Sorry! This site requires JavaScript. Virtually nothing will work without it. Please enable it in your browser.


This collection of stories demonstrates the full range of George Mackay Brown's literary talent. All of these sharply-etched fables deal with his perennial themes - love, violence, death and rebirth - and are set in an Orcadian world that spans myth and reality, past and present.

Important places

Orkney (45)
UK (5,022)

Other geographical areas

Orkney Islands (70)
North Atlantic Ocean (8,808)
British Isles (19,064)