Sorry! This site requires JavaScript. Virtually nothing will work without it. Please enable it in your browser.

The Mt. Bachelor Murders

A murder mystery set in Central Oregon, starting with a murder committed in 1966 and ending with the murderer finally identified in 2018. The Mount Bachelor Murders features continuing characters from Suspects and The Mirror Pond Murders but can be fully enjoyed without reading the earlier books.

When Erik Peterson is found buried in snow at the new Mt. Bachelor Ski Area, Sheriff's Detective Forest Connor cannot find or identify the young man Erik was skiing with, even with the dogged and sometimes annoying help of Erik's skiing pupil, Sally Paulsen.

The adult Sally, now Sarah Chatham, finds the missing man and enlists Erik's grandson, Dan Martinez, to uncover the killer's motive, hidden in a foreign war records. Dan must simultaneously cope with the fallout of an attempted mass shooting. Are the old murder and the new shooting somehow connected?

The third book in Ted Haynes' Northwest Murder Mystery series, The Mt. Bachelor Murders once again combines danger and suspense with vivid characters in a beautiful Central Oregon setting.

Important places

Mount Bachelor (1)
Bend (10)


Deschutes (6)


Oslo (126)
Oregon (944)
California (7,435)


Norway (581)
United States (64,950)

Other geographical areas

Cascade Range (70)
Great Basin (USA) (130)
The Bay Area (313)
Coast Ranges (USA) (388)
Scandinavia (1,373)
Nordic Countries (2,554)
Northern California (3,440)
West Coast (USA) (5,046)