Sorry! This site requires JavaScript. Virtually nothing will work without it. Please enable it in your browser.

The Charleton House Mysteries (5 book series)

From Book 1: The annual Charleton House Food Festival is about to begin. But the first item on the menu is murder…

Nestled in the idyllic setting of Derbyshire’s rolling hills, the ancestral home of the Fitzwilliam-Scott family seems an unlikely location for murder. But when a young man is killed with a part from a coffee machine, recent thefts from local stately homes are put in the shade, and caffeine-loving café manager Sophie Lockwood finds her interest piqued by a pair of unusual cases.

Who would want to brutally murder a gentle giant of a man? And why would a thief, with an endless treasure trove to choose from, make off with a bowl from Charleton House that only has sentimental value?

Enlisting the help of her charismatic and eccentric colleagues, including quick-witted tour guide Mark, Sophie sets off to extract inside information from Detective Constable Joe Greene in return for a generous supply of chocolate croissants. But just as Sophie finds her suspicions falling on a likely suspect, a trail of coffee beans leads to a shocking revelation that turns her caffeine-fuelled investigation on its head.

Buy Death By Dark Roast today, you won't be able to put it down.

Book 1 in The Charleton House Mysteries series. A light, entertaining mystery with a coffee loving amateur sleuth who works at one of England’s finest stately homes, and is ruled by her domineering tabby cat.

What readers are saying about Death by Dark Roast:

‘I absolutely adored this book.’

‘A delightful escape, and I cannot wait for the rest of the series.’

‘You just can't put this book down.’

‘This book has everything I love about cozy mysteries - likable interesting characters, an intriguing cozy mystery, and friendship.’

‘The mystery plot(s) is fascinating and the writing is as elegant as Charleton House itself. A brilliant beginning to a series I will read every word of.’

‘Kate P. Adams develops her characters in such a way that you feel you are right there with them solving mysteries, drinking amazing coffee, wandering beautiful gardens, and working in a grand English home.’

‘This book is the perfect read for fans who enjoy their cozy mysteries served with a patina of history, a bounty of culinary delights, and a bottomless cup of perfectly brewed coffee.’

Written in British English. Can be read as a standalone but will be enjoyed more as part of the series. No strong language, gore, sex, or violence!

The Charleton House Mysteries
1. Death by Dark Roast
2. A Killer Wedding
3. Sleep Like the Dead
4. A Deadly Ride
5. Mulled Wine and Murder


Derbyshire (145)


United Kingdom (21,421)

Other geographical areas

East Midlands (446)
Midlands (2,795)