Sorry! This site requires JavaScript. Virtually nothing will work without it. Please enable it in your browser.

The Dawn Stag

AD 81. Agricola, the ruthless governor of Roman Britain is intent on capturing the last unconquered territory in Britain - Alba: Scotland. Rhiann is an Alban priestess and princess who submitted to a political marriage to Eremon, an exiled Irish prince. Out of duty, grew love - a powerful and desperate love that will bind them together through conflict and betrayal. Now in them lies the hope of a nation. For Agricola's army is formidable - brilliantly armed and heavily supported. To the people of Alba it is a wall of steel and fire advancing across their homeland, bringing with it desolation. The predestined day draws near: the armies of Alba and Rome will meet in an epic battle to decide the fate of a country. Rhiann searches for guidance in the spirit world, little realizing how big a part she will play in this endgame. Eremon knows only that he must risk - and sacrifice - many lives, perhaps even his own...

In the vein of Marion Zimmer Bradley's million-seller The Mists of Avalon, The Dawn Stag mixes battles, danger, love, honor, sacrifice, Celtic magic and the passionate desire for freedom from tyranny. Rhiann not only has to deal with the challenges of this savage world - and keeping alive the love of her life - but also struggles with her loyalty to the Otherworld and to the goddess that she feels has betrayed her.

This is the second in a trilogy about the Celts and Romans in Scotland. The other novels in the series are also available as e-books.


North Yorkshire (467)


United Kingdom (21,421)

Other geographical areas

Grampian Mountains (308)
Scotland (1,512)
Yorkshire and The Humber (6,115)
North of England (7,026)