Sorry! This site requires JavaScript. Virtually nothing will work without it. Please enable it in your browser.

The case of the pig in the evening suit

'A superior mystery trilogy emerges'
'Brilliantly different detective story'

The Dumfries Detective Trilogy is a thrilling, unusual, quirky crime mystery series.
Note - although it contains little or no swearing and no graphic sex, it is not a cozy murder/mystery.
The trilogy is best read in order as strands weave through each book, building to a grand finale.

When a dead pig, dressed in an evening suit, is found in a storm drain in the sleepy Scottish town of Dumfries, Jin cannot hold his curiosity at bay. He decides to investigate. It is a bad decision: it puts his life in danger.

Jin Johnstone is not really a detective: it’s just that people of the town come to him with their problems. Sometimes he charges for his services. It depends. It’s not as if he needs the money.

Already undertaking a task to find a missing son, Jin’s search through town, with its many colourful characters, brings him into contact with a beautiful and mysterious woman; a woman who fires up unprecedented and unwelcome desires in him.
Then another body is found.

Told in the first person, this high-paced, multi-layered, quirky murder/mystery drips with a distinct sense of place. Its many twists and turns evolve quickly into a thrillingly tense and topical story.

Important places

Dumfries (10)


Dumfries and Galloway (43)


United Kingdom (21,421)

Other geographical areas

Europe (50,240)
Northern Europe (20,481)
Great Britain (17,707)
British Isles (19,064)